Wednesday, May 28, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday: Thief of Glory

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Breaking the Spine. Each week offers you the opportunity to spotlight an up-and-coming release you are looking forward to.


Waiting On:
Title: Thief of Glory
Author: Sigmund Brouwer
Publisher: Water Brooke Press
Publication Date: August 19th, 2014

Synopsis:
In the tradition of Brock and Bodie Thoene's Zion Chronicles and history-meets-contemporary mysteries like those of bestseller Kate Morton, this WWII drama is both exciting in its revelations and heart-rending in its truth about human nature and forgiveness.
In the early 1940s, Jeremiah Prins was a 12-year-old living a content life as the son of a school headmaster in the Dutch East Indies (Indonesia). When Holland declared war on the Japanese in 1941, the situation changed swiftly. The Japanese army invaded, and Jeremiah and his family were placed in a Japanese prisoner-of-war camp-a camp Jeremiah finally escapes and returns to Holland. Yet wartime complications force him to abandon a marriage engagement with Laura Jensen. The young man flees to California, where he struggles with the lingering anger and war stress he faced as a child.

Determined to find some kind of redemption, a now-elderly Jeremiah tries to make sense of his life by journaling of all that he does not want to reveal to his children about his past, intending to leave his writings as an apology after he is gone.

An online encounter puts Jeremiah in touch with his true love from the war years, Laura, and when they meet again, it triggers the time bomb of long-buried secrets. Even seventy years later, if uncovered, these secrets can harm everyone who matters to Jeremiah.
Why I'm Waiting:
Sigmund Brouwer has become one of my favorite authors, so I look forward to any of his new books. I'm looking forward to this story as well for the backdrop of WW2 and a mystery that has been covered up for 70 years.

What are you waiting on?

7 comments:

ladysmartypants said...

Wow, it sounds really exciting and I hope you'll enjoy it a lot :)

Yours
Smarty

Shane Morgan said...

This is new to me and it sounds different from my normal reads, which is why it appeals to me. Great pick. Hope you read it soon :)

Happy Wednesday!

Shane @ Itching for Books

Sofia T said...

I don't usually read historical dramas, but I hate to say that this does sound intriguing - great pick! :)

Kate said...

Smarty, Thanks! I hope so too. :-) It's always fun to find new books on the horizon.

Kate said...

Shane, The mesh up of topics is great! Thanks!

Kate said...

Sofia, Thanks. Can't beat a story that captures your attention right from the get-go.

Melinda said...

Very nice book cover!